Spooky Decorations Pt. 1

I’m so happy that I have my first Halloween decorations up! These flying bats for my room are the first things I made. I think they’re fun – they’re simple and not too tacky and super easy to make. This DIY is as simple as cutting and sticking. By Halloween my house will be looking pretty spooooooky!

halloween decs 1You will need:
10 sheets of black card
Pencil
Scissors
Blue tack

Step 1: Draw on your bat shapes. I did four sizes of bats – the biggest were the length of a sheet of A4, and the little one’s I cut from the space under the big bat’s wings. Fold the card in half and draw on half the bat  – that way your bat will be symmetrical, and he will look like he’s flapping his wings when you blue tack him to the wall! Then cut out your bats.

halloween decs 2halloween decs 3

Step 2: Blue tack your bats to the wall!

I told you this was a quick decoration 🙂

halloween decs 4halloween decs 5

I also carved my first pumpkin! This guy is a “monster” pumpkin. I carved the witch and James carved the ghost. I’m not sure if it’ll make it all the way to Halloween, but if not at least I used the insides to attempt my first pumpkin pie (I think I need a little practice…)

Halloween Decs 6

Have you put any Halloween decorations up yet? I have big plans for the rest of the house but I’m pretty pleased with my decorations so far. I’m hoping to host a Halloween get-together at my house which will give me lots of opportunity to create some spooky concoctions!

7 thoughts on “Spooky Decorations Pt. 1

  1. We’ve put up tons of decorations both at home and in the office. If you check out our blog you’ll see our mummy jars and jar-lanterns. I absolutely love your bats! They ride that fine line between clean and elegant and totally kitschy perfectly. Job well done!

  2. I like those bats and both of those pumpkins look super! I took home a pumpkin from the supermarket yesterday to make a pie. I love pumpkin everything 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment! I love reading your thoughts :)